Merry in England.

 

view back to Faversham

Looking back to Iron Wharf from Faversham Creek

Today I cycled out from Faversham and fell back in love with my country.

 

I sometimes forget how lovely England still is when I spend so much time seeing and bike at Goodnestonedespairing at the destruction of our countryside. At times it seems that we have become one big building site and ugliness both physical and ideological threatens to engulf us.

Today however I remembered all the good things as I weaved past the lively market and down to the boatyards of Iron Wharf where people clambered over their weekend projects with renewed enthusiasm because the sun was out and the days were getting longer. I then crossed a ever more rickety bridge over a creek and spun across Nagden Marshes.

Spring was everywhere, butterflies courting, birds singing, blackthorn spangled in lacey blossom.

20170311-0004Spring in England is a blessing which you can enjoy all the more after the gloom of a long winter and, even these days, when winter is not what it was, then I can revel in the first sun on bare skin. I fully subscribe to Robert Browning’s philosophy in his poem ‘O to be in England.’ and never wish to live full time in a country where the summer is endless. Like many things in life the joy of pleasure returning is all the sweeter when you’ve come through the dark days.

Away from the banks of Faversham Creek  I swung down inside Goodnestone churchquiet lanes, passing farm workers, horseshows and stopped at St Bartholomew’s Church in Goodnestone run by the Churches Conservation Trust and stepped inside to discover it’s simplicity and cool whitewash. On, past quirkily named pubs and first pints of shandy back to town. The world had gone all John Betjeman and I was thankful for it.

4 thoughts on “Merry in England.

  1. Sounds a nice cycle ride….just a mile further on from Goodnestone (other side of Graveney) is, (& hopefully not was), a lovely old traditional cherry orchard. A past visit there one July, seeing big wooden ladders amongst the trees – transported me to a dreamland of 50’s Kent. Too, the delightful succulent cherries were being sold from an adjoining wayside stall! And not in “supermarket style” cellophane wrapped plastic punnets but the good old crisp brown paper bag…..

    • I think I know the one that you mean. Let’s hope it survives. There are quite a lot of old orchards close to me and I would imagine they are all vulnerable to the development epidemic.

  2. Very evocative pictures of Faversham Creek. When you mentioned Goodnestone, I had in mind the other Goodnestone not far from Wingham. I remember the pub at Dargate, the Dove which is not far from where you actually were I think.

    • I didn’t see The Dove but I did see one called The Free Wheel aiming at the cycling clientele. Unfortunately I freewheeled home to watch the rugby instead of stopping.

Leave a Reply

