The worlds gone wrong – No 3

lightbulbToday I try to buy a lightbulb for my bedside lamp. I am old enough to remember the days when this was a simple task and your choice was between 40,60 or 100w. Now the choice is mind boggling. I cannot remember the last time I went to a shop to buy a lightbulb and came away with the right bulb first time.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not against eco lightbulbs. Using less energy is obviously a good thing, but why can’t my choice still be a simple choice of wattage? Oh, and whether I need  that little bayonetty thing or not?

I have a theory. A conspiracy theory. Something I find I am increasingly prone to. My theory is that this excess of lightbulbs is a ploy by the powers that be to addle our mind with too many choices and too much trivia so we have no brain capacity to think about the big issues.  At this rate I think I may just resort to candles.

7 thoughts on “The worlds gone wrong – No 3

    • Oh dear. Still, good to get it off your chest. Probably just too long in front of a computer. I was back out in the woods yesterday so no doubt will be feeling much more mellow.

  1. I’m so glad this isn’t just me! I usually stare at the display with a confused look until an assistant comes to help…

      • Love it! We couldn’t replace the halogens in the kitchen because the bulbs were so tricky to remove, so we cooked in the gloom for a year and a half until the last one blew and then we bought a new light 😳

  2. ah ha, after yet another failed attempt to light my lamp. I now realise that it was the fuse that had blown all along. Thankfully fuses have not changed at all in 40 odd years and are a lot easier to fix

Leave a Reply

