A Good Read – Helen Macdonald, H is for Hawk.

final-H-is-for-hawk-cover

We’ve all done it. Dismissed a book based on the hype without ever opening the front cover. I was all poised to read this and be a bit sneery but, within the first few pages I changed my mind.

There was something real and honest in Helen Macdonald I hadn’t expected to find. Despite the reviews I don’t think this book is a work of dark genius. It’s not The Peregrine. I did not find it a hard, difficult, painful read but a simple account of grief and the desire to withdraw from the world.

Maybe it says something about me that I found so much in this book I could relate to. That the author’s desire to hide out with a hawk, lose herself in the wild, bury herself in non human instincts was something I could sympathise with.

I like the unapologetic way she deals with many of the issues this book covers. She doesn’t get bogged down in the ethics of killing animals it is just something she does. She takes responsibility for ending an animal’s life and she eats what she kills. Maybe at times you do feel uneasy about her lack of comment on the contrast between her own sustainable hunting and the pheasant shoots whose rearing pens her hawk plunders but ultimately the ethics of hunting is not what this book sets out to explore.

I also appreciated the lack of melodrama when talking about her grief and depression and her realisation that she can’t continue to hide out in the wilderness but needs people in her life.

If you are one of the people who have become sick of hearing about this book and actively avoided it then think again. Ignore the hype and enjoy the book for what it is. A simple and well written book from a women, who you sense, never sought the limelight.

5 thoughts on “A Good Read – Helen Macdonald, H is for Hawk.

    • Do give it a try. I have just come back from Germany where I saw a Goshawk make a kill. Amazing experience and even more amazing as it took place in a small wood on the edge of Hamburg.

  1. Following your review I re-tackled this.
    It’s an absorbing, worthwhile, “good read”, with a lot to mull over. As White’s hawk ended up being lost, I always wondered what the fate of Mabel was going to be. But you have to read the postscript to find this out. Not sure I share Helen Mac’s gloomy perspective on Bakers’ book although I can appreciate why she might have felt that way.

Leave a Reply

