First day out in the world

baby with mouth openMy blue tit babies are out! They were in the box at 6.30am this morning but by the time I came out of the shower they were fluttering around my garden like bits of coloured cotton wool blown by the wind. I feel as nervous as a parent watching a child head off for their first day of school. I want to watch over them and chase away the neighbourhood cat who has taken an unhealthy interest in proceedings, waiting with endless patience until I spot him and go haring down the garden in my dressing gown.blue tit on box

The first few days out of the nest must be the most dangerous time and I curse that I have to go out today and can’t help out these parents who have worked so hard for success. Their industry has inspired me. Round the clock they have flashed in and out of the box like winged jewels drawn, drawn, drawn by the endless begging calls. Now life gets even harder for them. They dash around after the babies, who tumble between tree and box and window pane on wings which seem to short to support them.

2 thoughts on “First day out in the world

  1. Beautiful Carol (even the mental image of you chasing the cat in your dressing gown) – thanks! Hope those fluffballs are ok.

    • I hope so too. There was a big rain storm that afternoon and I wanted to find them and keep them warm until it had passed but they had gone and I couldn’t protect them any longer.

Leave a Reply

