Book Review – The Road by Cormac McCarthy

untitled (9)A man and his son walk through a post-apocalyptic world of ash strewn countryside and abandoned cities populated by desperate gangs of cannibals. They survive on a cart of scavenged food, love for each other and hope, without evidence, that things could be better down south.

Throughout the book their are references to ‘carrying the fire’ and this symbolises faith in God to heal the ravaged land, in the future represented by the boy, in the need to keep your humanity and goodness when all around you is darkness and desperate survival.

The Road is a bleak, desperate and, at times, gruesome read but don’t let this put you off. It is not a depressing book, there are moments of joy for the pair and it is a reminder of how happiness can be found in the smallest things and that love and strength of character are things of value even when there is nothing else to give.

A brilliantly crafted and bravely written book, The Road is a worthy winner of the Pulitzer Prize.

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Road by Cormac McCarthy

  1. This review encourages me to check out this book. I wasn’t drawn to it before because I thought it would be depressing. Guess not! Right now, I’m reading “Ape House” by Sara Gruen. It’s a novel about Bonobos that’s perfect for anyone who loves animals/nature. If you haven’t read it, I recommend it.

    What are you reading now?

    • Glad to hear you will give The Road a try, it wasn’t an obvious choice for me either but it is an brave and well written book (in my opinion) I’ve been reading a book written by a man I used to work with about his journey from being a truck driver to creating a very quirky nature reserve. I’m also hoping to read The Old Ways by Robert Macfarlane soon, I saw him talk about the book recently and was intrigued. Your book about Bonobos also sounds really interesting. I will see if I can order it at the library.

Leave a Reply

