On Chislet Marshes

by Sergey Yeliseev

by Sergey Yeliseev

Hobbies hunting on Chislet Marshes yesterday, catching the dragonflies who hawk the ditches. I walked across the heat seared wasteland of intensive wheat fields carrying out a ditch survey but came to a halt as two battled overhead, one with a prize in its claws the other, so it seemed to me, not too proud to mob or was this a late courting pair? If so there was no love lost as they swooped down on each other claws abreast.  The intruder seen off, the remaining hobby returned to its patrol all dark shimmer and moustaches and so falcon fast as it cut down after its prey making me catch my breath with the thrill of its speed. What can I do? What can I do? What can I do? to make sure these birds continue to hunt the Chislet Marshes, yes so others can see them but more for the mere fact of falcon existence even if no one sees them. Does my little world of ditch improvements really make a difference against all the greed and destruction wielded by business and politicians?

Leave a Reply

